355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

4 Things Important Things to Know if You Are a Wisconsin Firearm Owner

Posted on in Gun Violations

Dodge County weapons violation attorney

One of the things that makes the United States different from many other countries is that there are provisions guaranteeing citizens the right to own firearms written in the country’s Constitution. Even so, each state is allowed the freedom to create its own laws pertaining to firearms and other weapons. This has led to a disparity across states regarding what is and is not legal when it comes to firearm ownership and possession. Not only do you have to follow state laws, but you must also follow federal laws. Violating any state or federal firearms laws can result in serious charges that can carry stiff penalties. If you are a Wisconsin gun owner, the following are a few things you should know.

Requirements for Firearm Possession in Wisconsin

If you are a resident of Wisconsin, there are certain requirements you must meet before you can legally own and possess a firearm. Wisconsin law states that firearm owners:

  • Must be at least 18 years old

  • Must not have been convicted of a felony crime in Wisconsin or a crime in another state that would be considered a felony in Wisconsin

  • Must not have been adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile for a crime that would be considered a felony if it was committed by an adult

  • Must not have ever been considered to be mentally ill, unstable, or have a mental defect by a court of law

  • Must not have ever been involuntarily committed to a mental institution for treatment

  • Must not have ever been the subject of an injunction for child abuse or any kind of domestic abuse

You Do Not Need a Permit to Open Carry -- But You Do if You Conceal Your Weapon

Wisconsin is an open carry state, which means you are legally permitted to carry a loaded weapon on your person, as long as it is not concealed. To legally carry a concealed weapon, however, you must apply and be approved for a concealed carry weapon (CCW) license. The requirements to get a CCW license vary slightly from the requirements to possess a gun. Those who wish to obtain a CCW license must be at least 21 years old, a resident of Wisconsin, not barred from owning or possessing a firearm, and have proof that they completed firearms training.

Carrying a Weapon in a Vehicle Can Be Considered Concealed Carry

When it comes to weapons inside of a vehicle, the laws can be confusing and difficult to understand. Current Wisconsin laws state that a person can have a gun in their vehicle without possessing a CCW license, as long as the weapon is not concealed and within reach. If you have a CCW, you can carry a loaded and concealed handgun in your vehicle, although the law for rifles and shotguns is different. Rifles and shotguns must be unloaded and visible from outside of the vehicle or out of the reach of the driver and passengers.

Contact a Waukesha County Criminal Defense Attorney

If you are a firearm owner in Wisconsin, it is imperative that you follow the state's laws, or you could face serious consequences. The laws pertaining to open or concealed carry can be confusing. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we believe that there is no such thing as a minor gun violation. Our knowledgeable Jefferson County gun charges defense lawyer can help you defend against any type of weapons charge you may be facing. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 262-303-4916.

 

Sources:

https://www.doj.state.wi.us/sites/default/files/dles/ccw/ccw-faq%201-2018.pdf

https://dnr.wi.gov/emergency/documents/2011_Wis_ACT_51.pdf

 

Back to Top