355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

Waukesha County Motorcycle Crash LawyerAll users of the road run the risk of being in an accident and incurring an injury during any trip. With less protection than drivers of cars and trucks, motorcycle riders run a higher risk of serious injury and even death if they are involved in an accident. Given this risk, there are preventative actions that riders can take to avoid being in a motorcycle accident and to stay safe on the road.

Take a motorcycle safety course – Before you even head out on the road, it helps to know the ins and outs of riding a motorcycle safely. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation offers motorcycle safety courses through the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program (WMSP) to earn a Class M motorcycle license. Participants in a course learn how to improve their riding skills and share the road with other vehicles.

Wear proper motorcycle gear – Wisconsin strongly recommends all motorcycle riders and passengers wear a helmet when riding. All riders and passengers under 18 are required to wear a helmet. Additionally, full protective gear including leather or heavy-duty clothing, boots, gloves, and eye protection is strongly encouraged. You should also make yourself more visible to other drivers by wearing high-visibility clothing, especially at night or in poor weather.

...

Continue Reading...

Ozaukee County Car Crash LawyerBeing in a motor vehicle accident, especially if you are injured, can be a jarring experience. That experience can be made worse if the other driver does not stop. Wisconsin law requires drivers who know or believe they have caused a traffic accident to stop. If you do not have the other driver’s information, you may not know where to turn. By calling an experienced hit-and-run attorney, you can start to put the pieces back together and receive the compensation you deserve. 

Hit-and-Run Laws in Wisconsin

Under Wisconsin law, after a traffic accident you must stop, exchange information with the other driver, call the police if the accident is serious or caused an injury or death, and provide reasonable assistance to the driver and passengers in the other car. Failure to stop or meet the other requirements can open a driver up to civil and criminal consequences. 

The criminal penalties for hit-and-run drivers can be very severe. If the driver does not meet their obligations under the law, the charges they face depend on the severity of the injuries suffered by the victim. For an accident with only minor or moderate injuries, the driver faces misdemeanor charges with up to 9 months in jail, plus probation and a fine of up to $10,000. For more severe injuries, felony charges are possible. The driver could face up to 15 years in prison, probation, and $50,000 in fines. For a fatal hit-and-run accident, the legal consequences are a higher-degree felony with up to 25 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. 

...

Continue Reading...

WI injury lawyerGetting into a car accident can at the least, majorly disrupt your day. You are not going to get where you were going anytime soon, even if you had an important meeting or appointment. At the worst, a car accident can disrupt your entire life if you face criminal charges as a result. It might be tempting to get out of there rather than stick around and identify yourself when you have caused an accident, but doing so will only make things worse. Your safest bet is to comply with Wisconsin law regarding what you can and cannot do immediately after a car accident. Then, you need to call a lawyer as soon as possible.

If I Have Caused a Car Accident, What Do I Need to Do Next?

Right after an accident, you might be experiencing a flood of emotions, ranging from panic to guilt, especially if someone got hurt. It is important to remain calm and comply with the legal steps you are required to take. After a car accident, Wisconsin law requires you to:

  • Stay there - The most important thing is that you do not leave the scene. You must remain where you are until the police say otherwise. Fleeing the scene, with or without your vehicle can lead to hit-and-run charges. If the other driver is behaving aggressively or threatening you, you can get back in your car and lock the doors or duck into a nearby business and let the police know where you are. Otherwise, stay in clear view of the accident scene.
  • Identify yourself - You must provide your name, address, and registration to anyone else who was involved in the collision. If another driver or one of their passengers requests to see your driver’s license, you have to show it.
  • Find the owner - If you accidentally hit an unattended vehicle, which often happens in crowded parking lots, or another piece of property like a fence or mailbox, you need to take reasonable steps to locate the owner. Leaving a note with your contact information will generally suffice.
  • Help injured people - You do not need to jump in and become a first-aid expert, but you do need to call an ambulance if one is needed. The requirement is that you provide “reasonable assistance.”
  • Police report - You must report the accident to the police.

Call a Wisconsin Traffic Law Attorney

If you have been charged with a crime after causing a car accident, Bucher Law Group, LLC has the skills you need to minimize the impact of the situation. Our experienced Jefferson County traffic law lawyers can begin providing assistance immediately after the accident. Call 262-303-4916 for a free consultation.

...

Continue Reading...

Milwaukee County personal injury attorney car accident

Wisconsin law allows individuals who were injured by another party’s negligent or criminal actions to seek compensation for their “damages” or losses. The amount of compensation that a personal injury claim may recover for a car accident victim varies from case to case. Several factors can affect the amount of money that an injured plaintiff receives, including the severity of the injuries, the victim’s prognosis, and more.

Types of Recoverable Damages for Which You May Be Entitled Compensation  

There are several types of damages available to car accident victims under Wisconsin personal injury law. Compensatory damages typically include the financial and non-financial losses experienced by the victim. Economic damages typically include:

...

Continue Reading...

Racine County personal injury attorney car accident

Everyone knows that it is dangerous to text and drive. Unfortunately, this does not stop millions of drivers from using their phones while driving. Using a cell phone, tablet, GPS, or other electronic devices behind the wheel is the most dangerous form of distracted driving because it takes your hands, eyes, and attention away from driving. If you or a loved one were injured in a distracted driving accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your damages through a personal injury claim.  

Study Shows that Distracted Driving Is On the Rise

A study conducted by Zendrive shows that distracted driving is a much greater problem than previously realized. It is also a problem that is increasing in severity. According to the data compiled, individuals use their cell phones while driving an average of 88 out of 100 trips. Distracted driving often involves cell phones and other portable electronic devices; however, non-device distractions can be just as dangerous. Eating, drinking, grooming, and other activities may lead to severe and even deadly distracted driving accidents.

...

Continue Reading...

AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List Criminal Defense Blog
Back to Top