711 West Moreland Boulevard, #100A, Waukesha, WI 53188
Facebook Twitter Linkedin


Bucher Law Group, LLC

Can You Lose Your Wisconsin Driver’s License Due to a Speeding Ticket?

 Posted on May 28, 2021 in Criminal Defense

Racine County traffic offense lawyerWhen you are pulled over for a traffic stop and the officer believes you were speeding, one of the first things they will likely say is, “Do you know how fast you were going?” Many people do not even realize when they are speeding. It can be extremely easy for the speedometer to inch up and eventually move past the legal speed limit. Most people would simply accept their fate, pay the fine, and move on with their lives. However, paying the fine on a speeding ticket is an admission of guilt and can come with further consequences in some circumstances. If you have received a speeding ticket, you should consult with an attorney to determine how paying the ticket would affect your situation.

Penalties for a Speeding Ticket

Most of the time, when you receive a speeding ticket in Wisconsin, it is only charged as a moving violation. This means that the main penalty for the offense is only a fine. According to Wisconsin law, most speeding tickets carry a possibility of fines between a minimum of $30 and a maximum of $300.

In addition to fines, a speeding ticket could result in points added to your driving record. In Wisconsin, a person with a normal driver’s license can face a license suspension if they accumulate more than 12 points in a 12-month period. The length of the suspension depends on the number of points accumulated. For example, if you were to accumulate 30 points in a 12-month period, you would face a year-long license suspension.

Speeding and Reckless Driving

Speeding is one of the offenses that police have discretion over. If you are speeding in a manner that is deemed to be dangerous or destructive, you could be charged with reckless driving. Specifically, Wisconsin laws state that reckless driving occurs when a person “endangers the safety of others” by negligently operating a vehicle.

Reckless driving is a much more serious charge than a simple moving violation. Reckless driving is typically charged with a fine of between $25 and $200 as a first offense. However, there is a possibility of up to a year of jail time if a person has two or more reckless driving offenses within four years.

Contact a Dodge County Speeding Ticket Attorney Today

It can be frustrating if you have received a speeding ticket, but it can be even more frustrating if that ticket was the reason your driver’s license was suspended. If you have received a ticket for any type of traffic violation, you should consult with a skilled Wisconsin traffic ticket defense lawyer. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we can help you determine your best course of action to deal with the ticket, in addition to helping you understand the consequences of paying the fine. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 262-303-4916.





Share this post:
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List Criminal Defense Blog
Back to Top