355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

Consequences for Driving Under the Influence in Wisconsin

Posted on in Drunk Driving

Delafield OWI defense attorneyWhen you are behind the wheel of a car, you have a duty to other people on the road, and that duty is simple: behave in a way that does not put yourself or others into danger. Unfortunately, according to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, around 28,790 people were arrested for operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) in 2015, and 23,931 were actually convicted. Drunk driving can be deadly, and even when it is not, it can cause a great deal of harm, which is why a DUI/OWI charge in Wisconsin is taken very seriously.

First Offense OWI

Consequences for a first-time DUI conviction in Wisconsin are mainly aimed at educating the offender and changing their habits or behaviors. There is typically no jail time, but there is a possible fine of $100 to $300, plus a $435 OWI surcharge. First-time offenders will also face a driver’s license revocation of six to nine months, and if their blood alcohol content (BAC) was over .15, an ignition interlock device or 24/7 sobriety program will be required for one year.

Second Offense OWI

If you have no prior OWIs in the past 10 years, and you never committed any bodily harm or homicide in an accident, sentencing will generally be more lenient than if you had. A second DUI offense will mean that you will face a possible fine of $100 to $300, plus a $435 OWI surcharge, along with a six to nine month license revocation, with the stipulation that you will be required to use an ignition interlock device or 24/7 sobriety program for at least one year.

If you did have a prior OWI within the past 10 years, or that OWI charge stemmed from bodily harm to another, you could face jail time of up to six months and a license revocation of 12 to 18 months with an ignition interlock device stipulation.

Third Offense OWI

A third offense means that you could face fines of $600 to $2,000, plus a $435 OWI surcharge and 45 days to a year in prison. In addition to jail time, you will also face a two to three year driver’s license revocation with the stipulation that you will be required to have an ignition interlock device for one to three years.

Fourth Offense OWI

A fourth DUI offense is classified as a Class H felony in Wisconsin, which means that you could face 60 days to six years in prison. You can also face fines of $600 to $10,000, and under a new law, a lifetime driver’s license revocation. 

Are You Facing OWI Charges? A Waukesha DUI Defense Attorney Can Help

With the invention of ride-sharing services like Uber and Lyft, along with the prevalence of public transportation, drunk driving is entirely preventable. DUI charges can not only be embarrassing, but they can also become expensive and a headache to deal with. If you have been charged with a DUI or related offenses, you need the immediate help of Waukesha County OWI defense lawyer. Contact Bucher Law Group, LLC to begin discussing your options and what your next steps should be. To set up a free consultation, call our office at 262-303-4916.

Sources:

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/drunk-drv/ddarrests.aspx

https://patch.com/wisconsin/mountpleasant/wisconsins-new-drunk-driving-law-4-strikes-youre-out

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-penchrt.pdf

AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top