355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

Frequently Asked Questions About Wisconsin OWI Charges

Posted on in Drunk Driving

Milwaukee county multiple OWI defense attorney

Getting into trouble with the law for any reason can be a particularly scary and anxiety-inducing experience. When you are accused of operating a vehicle while under the influence (OWI) of drugs or alcohol, this can be especially scary, because there are so many uncertainties that come with those charges. In Wisconsin, not only do you face expensive fines and surcharges for a first-time OWI offense, but your driver’s license can be suspended. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could face serious criminal charges with harsh consequences. Below are a few of the most commonly asked questions about Wisconsin OWI charges:

Will I Lose My Driver’s License?

If you are arrested because an officer suspected that you were driving while intoxicated, you will be asked to submit to a chemical test so the officer can determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). If your BAC result shows that you are legally intoxicated, the officer will give you a Notice of Intent to Suspend, which is informing you that the Wisconsin Department of Transportation will suspend your driver’s license after 30 days. You can contest this suspension within 10 days of your arrest; otherwise, your license will automatically be suspended for at least six months.

Will I Go to Jail?

In Wisconsin, first-time OWI charges are considered non-criminal offenses, meaning they do not result in jail time. With that being said, you can still face incarceration even if this is your first OWI offense in some situations. If you were convicted of an OWI, and you caused injury to another person while you were driving under the influence, you may face 30 days to one year in jail. If you caused great bodily harm to another person, you could face up to 12.5 years and up to 25 years if you killed someone.

Do I Need an Attorney for These Charges?

You are never required to have an attorney for any criminal charge, although it is your constitutional right to have one. Even with a first-time offense of driving under the influence, hiring an attorney who has experience in the field can help you avoid a license suspension or work with you to obtain an occupational license if a suspension is unavoidable. 

Contact a Waukesha County OWI Defense Attorney 

Although Wisconsin’s OWI laws are not as strict as some other states, you can still find yourself in a world of trouble if you are convicted of driving while under the influence. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we understand the impact that an OWI conviction can have on you and your family. Not only will you face the effects of the charges now, but they can also follow you for the rest of your life. Our skilled Milwaukee County drunk driving defense lawyers will do everything in their power to avoid a conviction or get the most favorable sentence for you. Call our office today at 262-303-4916 to schedule a free consultation.

 

Source:

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-penchrt.pdf

 

Back to Top