355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

How to Reinstate Your Wisconsin Driver’s License After an OWI

Posted on in Drunk Driving

Delafield DUI lawyer

Throughout the United States, the general trend for DUI arrests and convictions has been a good one — for the past couple of years, the number of DUI arrests and convictions has been decreasing. Despite this, operating a vehicle while intoxicated is still a big issue in Wisconsin. One of the ways states have tried to prevent DUIs is by placing a suspension or revocation on the offender’s driver’s licenses. 

While this has been effective in lowering DUI rates, it can greatly affect someone’s life who is arrested for OWI, including their ability to earn a living and complete household duties. Getting your driving privileges back can also be a long and tedious process, and one best navigated by a driver’s license reinstatement attorney.

License Reinstatement Eligibility

First, you need to determine whether you are eligible to reinstate your driver’s license. The length of time a suspension or revocation lasts depends mostly on the specific OWI offense that you were charged with and whether the reason your license was suspended or revoked was because of a first, second or subsequent offense. First-time offenders face a six to nine-month revocation, while other convictions can result in upwards of two to three years of revocation.

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation has an online system that allows you to check whether you are eligible to reinstate your license. The system will prompt you to enter your personal information, such as your name and Social Security number. Some people may be able to reinstate their driver’s license online, but the system will notify you if you need to reinstate your license in person.

SR22 Insurance

If your driver’s license was revoked because of a second or subsequent OWI offense, you will then need to file proof of insurance with the Department of Transportation before you can complete the process. You can do this by getting an SR22 certificate from your insurance company, which is proof you have the necessary insurance to legally operate a vehicle in Wisconsin. In Wisconsin, all drivers must have car insurance that covers at least $25,000 and $50,000 for personal injury or death and at least $10,000 for property damage.

Contact a Waukesha County Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyer

Driving is something one cannot realize how much it is needed until it is gone. If you have been arrested or convicted of OWI, you may have had your driver’s license suspended or revoked. If you need to reinstate your driver’s license, do not let the process and the paperwork confuse you. Call a Waukesha, WI driver’s license reinstatement attorney today. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we will get to work on your case right away to get the best outcome possible. Call our office today at 262-303-4916 to schedule a free consultation.

Sources:

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/drunk-drv/ddarrests.aspx

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-penchrt.pdf

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/susp-or-rvkd/reinstate-wi-res.aspx

AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top