355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

Is a Wisconsin OWI Different When a Child Is in the Vehicle?

Posted on in Drunk Driving

Milwaukee County DUI defense attorney

In recent years, police officers and lawmakers around the country have paid more attention to those who choose to operate a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OWI). Because of this, the number of deaths related to people who were driving under the influence (DUI) has decreased, but it still remains a problem. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were nearly 11,000 people killed in motor vehicle crashes involving alcohol impairment in 2017. Penalties for drunk driving vary by state but are serious no matter where you are. The penalties become even more strict if a child is in your automobile when you are caught driving under the influence.

Wisconsin OWI Penalties

If you are stopped on suspicion of operating a vehicle while under the influence in Wisconsin, you can be charged with OWI, whether or not your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or more. For example, if you fail a field sobriety test (FST), and the officer determines you are intoxicated beyond a safe point to drive, you may be arrested and charged with drunk driving. As a first-time OWI offender, you can face a fine of $150 to $300 in addition to a $435 OWI surcharge, and your driver's license will be revoked for six to nine months. If your BAC is .15 or higher, you may be required to use an ignition interlock device or participate in a 24/7 sobriety program for one year.

Wisconsin DUI Penalties With a Minor in the Car

In Wisconsin, the penalties for drunk driving with a minor who is under the age of 16 in the vehicle can be very severe. For a first OWI offense, fines are more than doubled to a minimum of $350 and a maximum of $1,100. The driver’s license revocation period is also doubled to 12 to 18 months in length, and jail time is a possibility. If convicted of these charges, you could face a minimum of five days and a maximum of six months in jail.

Contact a Waukesha County OWI Defense Lawyer 

Drinking and driving is never a good idea. You could face fines, the loss of your driver's license, and even jail time. If you are caught driving while under the influence, and there is a child in the vehicle with you, your penalties could be doubled. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we understand how an OWI charge or conviction can follow you for the rest of your life. Let our knowledgeable Milwaukee County drunk driving defense attorneys figure out the best defense for you. To begin the process, call our office today at 262-303-4916 to schedule a free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-penchrt.pdf

https://crashstats.nhtsa.dot.gov/Api/Public/ViewPublication/812630

 

 

AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top