355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in criminal defense

Waukesha County defense attorney

Fake or false identification cards have been around for as long as government entities have issued real ID cards. There are many things a person needs an ID to for, like purchasing alcohol or cigarettes, cashing a check, and boarding an airplane. Most of the time, fake driver’s licenses and IDs are procured by minors who want to purchase alcohol or get into bars, but they are also used in committing fraud and other offenses. 

The State of Wisconsin takes the production, sale, and possession of fake IDs seriously. If you have been charged for any offense involving fake identification, it is important to seek representation from an experienced criminal defense attorney.

...

Delafield, WI weapons lawyer

The state of Wisconsin has had a long relationship with firearms. Since Wisconsin was admitted to the United States and the Constitution of Wisconsin was adopted in 1848, citizens have been given the right to “keep and bear arms for security, defense, hunting, recreation or any other lawful purpose.” In Wisconsin, both open carry and concealed carry are legal, although they both have different requirements. Concealed carry requires a person to have a permit, while open carry does not. Not knowing open carry laws can result in weapons charges, which is why it is important to know the laws before you carry.

Wisconsin Gun Laws

The state of Wisconsin is an open carry state, meaning you are legally permitted to carry a loaded weapon in public. Open carry does not require a permit or license to legally do so. A person is considered to be openly carrying a gun if the gun is in plain view while you are in public. If the gun is hidden from ordinary view, then it is considered to be concealed and you must have a permit to legally carry the firearm. You must also be at least 18 years old to openly carry a gun in Wisconsin.

...

Waukesha defense attorneys

Because they are often used interchangeably in conversation, many people think theft, robbery, and burglary are all the same thing. They are actually three rather different charges with various levels of consequences. If you are charged with theft, robbery or burglary, it is important to understand the potential punishments you face for a conviction and to secure experienced legal representation as soon as possible.

Theft Charges

According to Wisconsin law, theft occurs when you intentionally take and use, transfer, conceal, or retain possession of moveable property without the owner’s consent and with the intention of permanently depriving them of that property. Like most states’ theft laws, the punishments for theft in Wisconsin largely depend on the value of the property taken. If the value is not more than $2,500, the charge is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries up to nine months in prison and $10,000 in fines. Penalties for stolen property valued at $2,500 or more can be classified as anywhere from a Class I felony to a Class F felony. This means you could face anywhere from three to 12 years in prison and fines between $10,000 and $25,000.

...

Milwaukee County weapons charges lawyerUnited States citizens are guaranteed the right to bear arms by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. While this federal statute gives individuals that right, states have the ability to restrict the law. One way they can do so is to create stipulations on who can and cannot own a firearm and apply for a concealed carry weapon (CCW) license.

Wisconsin has state laws that apply to its residents, but people in the state must also follow federal laws that apply to all U.S. citizens. Those who violate firearm possession laws can face serious consequences.

CCW License Eligibility

While Wisconsin does not require its residents to have a permit to own or possess a firearm, you must apply and successfully obtain a CCW license before you can legally carry a concealed firearm. To be eligible for a CCW license, you must:

...

Posted on in Drunk Driving

b2ap3_thumbnail_Untitled-design-20.jpgGetting pulled over for driving under the influence (DUI) can be a frightening experience. Fortunately, there are several ways you can avoid a DUI charge as well as getting pulled over in the first place. If you are going out to a party or any social event where drinking will be involved, be sure to adhere to the tips listed below.

 

  • Eat Something. Always eat something while you are drinking. By eating, you can slow down your body’s alcohol intake. If you drink on an empty stomach, your body will absorb alcohol quicker, causing your blood alcohol content or BAC to increase at a faster rate than if you had food in your system.
  • Drive Safely and Ensure Your Vehicle is in Good Condition. If you do drive after a party or social event, be sure to drive safely and ensure your vehicle is in good condition so that the police do not have a reasonable suspicion to pull your over. Your headlights should be on and your vehicle should be free of leaks, shattered windows, broken taillights, and other issues.
  • Make Sure Your Driver’s License and Insurance Information is Easily Accessible. When a police officer pulls you over, they will ask you for your driver’s license and car insurance information. Keeping both your license and insurance information in a place that is easily accessible may prevent suspicion that you may be driving drunk.
  • Utilize a Taxi or Ride-Sharing Service. If you are drinking, utilize a taxi or ride-sharing service such as Uber or Lyft. Spending some money on a taxi or ride-sharing service is well worth it considering it can save you from thousands of dollars in fines, jail time, and a permanent criminal record.
  • Designate a Driver. If you know you will be drinking, it is a good idea to designate a driver to make sure you get home safely. You should take turns being the designated driver with friends and family members so that one person is not always left with the burden. 
  • Find Somewhere to Sleep. If you are drinking at a friend or family member’s house, ask them if you could sleep over that night. In the event you are drinking at a wedding or another special event, you should book a hotel that is within walking distance so you do not have to worry about driving home afterwards.
  • Host a Party at Home. If you would like to drink without the risk of being charged with a DUI, you should consider hosting a party at home. If you are drinking at home, you will not have any reason to leave your home and engage in drunk driving.

Contact Our Waukesha County Drunk Driving Attorneys Today

...
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top