355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in milwaukee county dui lawyer

Milwaukee County DUI defense attorney

In recent years, police officers and lawmakers around the country have paid more attention to those who choose to operate a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OWI). Because of this, the number of deaths related to people who were driving under the influence (DUI) has decreased, but it still remains a problem. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were nearly 11,000 people killed in motor vehicle crashes involving alcohol impairment in 2017. Penalties for drunk driving vary by state but are serious no matter where you are. The penalties become even more strict if a child is in your automobile when you are caught driving under the influence.

Wisconsin OWI Penalties

If you are stopped on suspicion of operating a vehicle while under the influence in Wisconsin, you can be charged with OWI, whether or not your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or more. For example, if you fail a field sobriety test (FST), and the officer determines you are intoxicated beyond a safe point to drive, you may be arrested and charged with drunk driving. As a first-time OWI offender, you can face a fine of $150 to $300 in addition to a $435 OWI surcharge, and your driver's license will be revoked for six to nine months. If your BAC is .15 or higher, you may be required to use an ignition interlock device or participate in a 24/7 sobriety program for one year.

...

Waukesha County OWI defense lawyer boating under the influence

With summer comes the welcome of warm weather, and people typically like to spend more time outside. For many Wisconsin residents, boating is a fun outdoor pastime. What some people may not know is that many of the same restrictions that are placed on drivers regarding drugs or alcohol are also true for boat operators. Thus, who are boating while under the influence can be charged with Operating While Intoxicated (OWI). Even though relaxing on the water with a drink in hand may seem like a perfect summer day, it can pose serious consequences for those who are not responsible about it.

Wisconsin OWI Laws

Laws are very similar when it comes to the legal operation of motor vehicles and watercraft in Wisconsin. You are not permitted to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or more when you are operating a motor vehicle or a boat. For the first offense, you could be fined up to $500. A second offense carries up to $1,000 in fines, in addition to possible jail time. A third offense results in up to $2,000 in fines and 30 days to one year in jail. You will also be required to complete a boating safety course and obtain a certificate of completion.

...

b2ap3_thumbnail_shutterstock_178343492-1.jpgIf you were a passenger in a vehicle with a drunk driver, you may be asking yourself whether you can be charged with an OWI. Although only the driver can be charged with an OWI, the prosecution may question whether or not you were behind the wheel. Let’s take a closer look at the elements of an OWI and what happens if you are arrested for one to help answer this question.

Elements of an OWI

In order to be charged with an OWI in Wisconsin, you must be driving or in actual physical control of the vehicle. The following must also be true:

...

b2ap3_thumbnail_shutterstock_468856877.jpgIf you have a DUI on your criminal record and are searching for a job, you may be nervous about how potential employers will react when they find out about your DUI conviction. Here are some tips on how to explain your DUI on a job application or in an interview and increase your chances of landing the job. 

Is Disclosing a DUI Necessary?

It may be tempting not to mention your DUI while applying for a job. However, if an application asks you about your criminal history, it is important that you reveal your DUI. Since employers almost always run background checks prior to hiring employees, not mentioning your DUI can make you appear untrustworthy. In most cases, hiring managers and recruiters refrain from hiring candidates who were not honest about their criminal history. 

...

b2ap3_thumbnail_shutterstock_735997507.jpgWhen you get pulled over for a DUI, you will likely feel overwhelmed with thoughts and wonder whether you will lose your license, how your insurance company will react, and who you should talk to first. If you do get accused of a DUI, it is important to follow the following five steps.

  1. Document Everything. You should take the time to write down everything you can remember from your DUI arrest. Doing so can help you build a strong case and may help reduce or dismiss your charge. Some points that are vital to document include:
  • When and where you were stopped
  • Whether a breathalyzer test was administered
  • What the officer communicated to you and vice versa
  • What types of tests the officer conducted

2. Make Your Social Media Profiles Private. If your Facebook page shows pictures of you drinking the night of your DUI arrest, your arrest has a greater chance of turning into a conviction. Even if you are innocent, your photos can be taken out of context and taint your reputation. 

Therefore, you should remove any photos of yourself partying, drinking, or engaging in any type of inappropriate behavior. It is also a good idea to make sure all of your social media profiles are set to private. 

...
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top