355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Waukesha County DUI Attorney

Waukesha, WI DUI lawyers

Wisconsin police law enforcement and the courts do not take OWI charges lightly. In the state of Wisconsin, even a first offense of operating a vehicle while intoxicated can result in a fine of up to $300, a $435 OWI surcharge, a six- to nine-month driver’s license revocation, and a significant mark on your criminal record.

In recent years, Wisconsin lawmakers have pushed to make consequences for first-time OWI offenses more strict, although lawmakers typically punish OWI charges to the fullest extent of the law. However, there are certain elements a strong DUI defense can focus on to help mitigate the consequences.

...

Delafield OWI defense attorneyWhen you are behind the wheel of a car, you have a duty to other people on the road, and that duty is simple: behave in a way that does not put yourself or others into danger. Unfortunately, according to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, around 28,790 people were arrested for operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) in 2015, and 23,931 were actually convicted. Drunk driving can be deadly, and even when it is not, it can cause a great deal of harm, which is why a DUI/OWI charge in Wisconsin is taken very seriously.

First Offense OWI

Consequences for a first-time DUI conviction in Wisconsin are mainly aimed at educating the offender and changing their habits or behaviors. There is typically no jail time, but there is a possible fine of $100 to $300, plus a $435 OWI surcharge. First-time offenders will also face a driver’s license revocation of six to nine months, and if their blood alcohol content (BAC) was over .15, an ignition interlock device or 24/7 sobriety program will be required for one year.

Second Offense OWI

If you have no prior OWIs in the past 10 years, and you never committed any bodily harm or homicide in an accident, sentencing will generally be more lenient than if you had. A second DUI offense will mean that you will face a possible fine of $100 to $300, plus a $435 OWI surcharge, along with a six to nine month license revocation, with the stipulation that you will be required to use an ignition interlock device or 24/7 sobriety program for at least one year.

...

Milwaukee County DUI/OWI defense attorneyA DUI charge can be frightening. If you have been arrested for DUI/OWI, you may be unsure of your rights and how to proceed. By educating yourself on some of the most common misconceptions about DUI charges, you can gain a better understanding of how drunk driving charges work and what your legal options may be. Here is a brief list of five of the most common misconceptions about DUI charges: 

1. If I Am Charged With a DUI, I Am Automatically Guilty. 

Fortunately, a DUI charge and a DUI conviction are not the same. By seeking experienced legal representation for your DUI charge, you may be able to get your charges reduced or have your case dismissed. A lawyer can search for flaws in the prosecutor’s case which may improve your situation. 

...

Waukesha, WI DUI/OWI defense lawyerAfter a DUI/OWI arrest, you will likely feel overwhelmed and unsure of what to do. In order to ensure that your rights are protected and increase the chances of a favorable outcome for your case, it is important to clear your mind and avoid making some common mistakes. Here is a list of five mistakes you should be aware of:

1. Ignoring Your Charge

Believe it or not, some people believe that ignoring a DUI charge is a good idea. You should know that taking no action after you have been arrested for a DUI will not cause your charge to disappear. In fact, failing to appear in court for your DUI can lead to additional charges that may result in fines and jail time.

...

Posted on in Drunk Driving

WI defense lawyerDrunk driving accidents occur because people do not find alternatives to drunk driving. They would rather get behind the wheel and take a risk then find another way to get home. The next time you are out drinking, be sure to consider the alternatives to drunk driving. By doing so, you can prevent a DUI and save your live as well as the lives of others. Here are four alternatives to drunk driving you should consider:

1. Public Transportation

If you need a ride after drinking, public transportation is a cost-effective option. You can take a bus, subway, or rail system and will not have to worry about whether or not you will make it home safe and sound. Be sure to check public transportation schedules in advance and make sure your public transportation method of choice will be running when you plan to go home.

...
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top