711 West Moreland Boulevard, #100A, Waukesha, WI 53188
Facebook Twitter Linkedin


Bucher Law Group, LLC

Underage Drinking Charges in Wisconsin

 Posted on December 26, 2018 in DUI/OWI

Delafield Underage DUI Lawyer

Getting a call from the police department is rarely fun. When that call from the police is to inform you they have your teenager in custody, it can be devastating. 

According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, alcohol is the most widely used drug among teenagers, even though it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcohol. Though underage DUI incidents have decreased over the past few years, it is still a problem with serious consequences.

Underage Drinking Laws

There are technically two categories of underage drinking laws in Wisconsin. If your child is under the age of 17 and they are caught in possession of or consuming alcohol, it is categorized as a juvenile charge. If they are between the ages of 17 and 20 and caught in possession or consuming alcohol, it is categorized as an underage charge.

Penalties for an underage drinking citation may include:

  • $250 to $500 in fines;
  • A 30- to 90-day suspension of their driver’s license; and
  • Participation in a supervised work program or other community service work.

Absolute Sobriety Law

Like most states, Wisconsin has an absolute sobriety law that prohibits underage individuals from having any amount of alcohol in their system while they operate a motor vehicle. While in many states this is called a “zero tolerance” law, in Wisconsin, it is called the “Not a Single Drop” law. If you are under the age of 21 when you are pulled over and your blood-alcohol content is measured at any level over .00, you will be hit with a $200 fine and a three-month license suspension.

A Waukesha, WI Juvenile Defense Attorney Can Help

You always want to believe your child will make the best decisions, but teenagers are often known for doing the opposite. If your child has been charged with underage drinking or underage OWI, you need a skilled Waukesha County juvenile defense lawyer on your side. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we understand it can be a stressful and emotional time if your child is in legal trouble. We will fight to get your child’s charges reduced or dropped. Call our Delafield office today at 262-303-4916 to set up a free consultation. 





Share this post:
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List Criminal Defense Blog
Back to Top