711 West Moreland Boulevard, #100A, Waukesha, WI 53188
Facebook Twitter Linkedin


Bucher Law Group, LLC

What Are the Consequences of a Wisconsin Hit-and-Run Charge?

 Posted on June 08, 2021 in Criminal Defense

wisconsin criminal defense lawyerWhen you get into a traffic accident, the proper thing to do is to check for injuries and then exchange contact information so you can work everything out with your insurance companies. In fact, most states require that you do this by law, but it does not stop some people from fleeing the scene when they get into an accident. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were more than an estimated 814,000 hit-and-run crashes that took place across the country in 2019. If you have been accused of being involved in a hit-and-run accident, you should speak with a Wisconsin criminal defense attorney to discuss your options.

Requirements After a Wisconsin Car Accident

If you are involved in a car accident in Wisconsin, there are certain things that you are required by law to do. After you get into a collision in Wisconsin, the law states that you must get out of your vehicle and investigate what you hit. If you hit a person or a vehicle that had a person inside of it, you are required to:

  • Give your name, address and vehicle registration number to the other party

  • Show the other party your driver’s license, if they request to see it

  • Give reasonable assistance to anyone who is injured, which may include transporting the person or making arrangements to transport the person to the hospital

Penalties for Fleeing the Scene of an Accident

According to Wisconsin law, you could face serious charges if you were involved in a traffic accident but did not stop. If the accident did not cause death or injury to another person, you could face fines between $300 and $1,000. If a person was injured but did not suffer from great bodily harm, the law states you will be charged with a felony and could face up to $10,000 in fines and up to nine months in jail.

If the accident did involve a person suffering great bodily harm, you can be charged with a Class E felony, which carries up to $50,000 in fines and up to 15 years in prison. If you flee from an accident that involves the death of another person, you could face a Class D felony charge, which carries up to $100,000 in fines and up to 25 years in prison.

Speak to a Milwaukee County Hit-and-Run Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with committing a hit-and-run accident -- especially one involving the death or serious injury of another person -- you need to get in touch with a skilled Milwaukee, WI hit-and-run defense lawyer. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we can help you form a defense against any type of traffic violation you may be facing, including hit-and-run charges. To schedule a time to discuss your case, call our office at 262-303-4916 to set up a free consultation.






Share this post:
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List Criminal Defense Blog
Back to Top