711 West Moreland Boulevard, #100A, Waukesha, WI 53188
Facebook Twitter Linkedin


Bucher Law Group, LLC

What Are the Consequences of Vehicular Homicide in Wisconsin?

 Posted on April 21, 2022 in Criminal Defense

WI defense lawyerWhen operating a car or any motor vehicle, you are in control of what can be a very dangerous object. While basic traffic violations are unlikely to harm others, driving recklessly can have deadly consequences for yourself and other drivers, passengers, pedestrians, and bicyclists on the road. If you strike and kill another person with a vehicle in Wisconsin, you can be charged with vehicular homicide.

Types of Vehicular Homicide and Penalties in Wisconsin

There are two different types of vehicular homicide charges in Wisconsin:

  • Homicide by Negligent Operation – A driver is charged with Homicide by Negligent Operation when they cause the death of an individual by their criminally negligent operation or handling of a vehicle. Criminal negligence means that a person should know that their action creates a substantial and unreasonable risk of death or great bodily harm to another individual. Homicide by Negligent Operation is a class G felony and can carry a penalty if convicted of up to 10 years in prison and a maximum of $25,000 in fines.
  • Homicide by Intoxicated Use of a Vehicle – This charge is used when a driver kills another person while driving a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Intoxicated means a driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more or has a detectable amount of a controlled substance in their blood. The penalties for Homicide by Intoxicated Operation are even more severe. It is usually a class D felony, and a driver convicted of this charge can face up to 25 years in prison and a maximum of $100,000 in fines. If the driver has one or more prior DWI convictions or license suspensions, they could be charged with a Class C felony and face up to 40 years in prison and a maximum fine of $100,000.

Both charges result in the driver’s license being revoked for at least one year. If you were intoxicated, you must have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on your vehicle. . The penalties for convictions on either count can depend on the specific circumstances of the case, so it is essential that you hire a criminal defense attorney who knows Wisconsin DUI and criminal laws and can fight for your future.

Contact a Racine County Vehicular Homicide Attorney

If you or someone you know is being investigated or has been charged with vehicular homicide, you need to contact an accomplished criminal defense attorney immediately. These are serious charges, and you need a lawyer who will fight for the best outcome. Our Milwaukee County criminal defense lawyer is here to help you. Contact Bucher Law Group, LLC by calling 262-303-4916 today.



Share this post:
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List Criminal Defense Blog
Back to Top