355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

What to Expect From Your First OWI in Wisconsin

Posted on in Drunk Driving

b2ap3_thumbnail_shutterstock_132707411.jpgIf you have been arrested for an OWI for the first time, you are likely scared and unsure of what to expect. Fortunately, a OWI arrest does not automatically mean a conviction and there are things you can do to ensure the best possible outcome for your case. Below is some information to help you understand what to expect from a first time OWI arrest and tips on what you should do if you have been arrested.

First-Time DUI Penalties

When you get arrested for an OWI for the first time, you may feel like you are the only one to go through this. It is important to understand that you are not alone—as thousands of people get pulled over for driving under the influence in Wisconsin each year.

While the penalties you are left with will depend on the specifics of your case and whether your attorney can help reduce or drop your charges, first-time OWI penalties include:

  • License revocation: Your driver’s license will be revoked for six to nine months.
  • Fines: Fines for a first-time OWI range from $150 to $300.
  • Jail time: Fortunately, the majority of first-time OWI offenders do not serve jail time in Wisconsin.
  • Ignition interlock device: If your blood alcohol level is greater than .14, you will need an ignition interlock device. You will have to blow into it so that it can determine whether there is alcohol in your system. If no alcohol is detected, your vehicle will start as usual.

Steps to Take After a First- Time OWI Arrest

Now that you are aware of the penalties of an OWI arrest, you should take the following steps to make sure that your rights are protected:

  1. Document everything: Remembering the details of your OWI arrest can positively impact your case. Since your memory will fade over time, you should write down all of the important details of your arrest. Write down things like when and where you were stopped, the reason the officer gave for your stop, and what sobriety tests were conducted.
  2. Avoid posting on social media: Prosecutors often browse social media profiles to search for incriminating posts or photos to support their case. Therefore, avoid posting anything on social media and make sure your profiles are private.
  3. Find witnesses: If there are family members, friends, or acquaintances that saw you before, during, or after your arrest, ask them if they would be willing to testify on your behalf and help strengthen your defense.
  4. Contact an experienced DUI lawyer: An experienced DUI lawyer can design a solid defense strategy that can reduce your charges or dismiss your case.

 Contact Our Experienced Waukesha County DUI Attorneys Today

If you have been arrested for a first time OWI, learning about your legal options can improve your situation. Contact our experienced Waukesha County DUI attorneys today at 262-303-4916.  

Source:  http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/safety/education/drunk-drv/owi-penchrt.pdf 

 

 

AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top