355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

How to Get an Occupational License After an OWI in Wisconsin

Posted on in Drunk Driving

Milwaukee County DWI AttorneyThere are multiple ways you can be charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) in Wisconsin, and all of them have serious consequences. You be charged with OWI if your blood-alcohol content is more than .08, if you have a detectable amount of an intoxicant or restricted controlled substance in your blood, or if you are under the influence of any drug or controlled substance.

It is never a good idea to get behind the wheel if you have had too much alcohol, or if you have taken illegal or prescription drugs that can negatively impact your ability to drive. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reported about 32 percent of all fatal Wisconsin traffic accidents in 2016 were alcohol-related. 

If you are convicted of an OWI, you may face a lengthy license suspension or revocation. You could offset that inconvenience with an occupational license. Here are the details: 

Eligibility Requirements

An occupational license is a type of restricted driving permit for those who have had their driver’s license revoked or suspended because of an OWI charge. In order to qualify for an occupational license, you must first show that you have obtained and filed an SR22 insurance certificate with the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles.

Once that is in place, exactly when you may request an occupational license depends on your OWI history. If you have had one OWI charge, or two not within 10 years of one another, you can apply immediately. If you have more than two OWI convictions, or you were charged with injury or great bodily harm to others because of an OWI, you may have to wait up to a year to apply.

Restrictions

Because an occupational license is a type of restricted driver’s license, you will be required to follow certain rules and restrictions:

Driving times: Your occupational license will state the exact hours you are able to drive based on your intended use, but you are limited to how long you can drive. You are only allowed a total of 12 hours in a day and up to 60 hours for an entire week.

Uses for your occupational license: There are six types of uses that are permitted with an occupational license - homemaker duties, work, schooling, religious services, a driver safety program, and as an emergency services provider.

A Waukesha County OWI Defense Attorney Can Help

We all know drinking and driving is extremely dangerous, which is why states have very strict laws when it comes to driving under the influence. An OWI in Wisconsin can mean jail time, expensive fines, and driver’s license revocation or suspension. Our experienced Waukesha, WI OWI defense lawyers can help you get the best result possible in your case. At the Bucher Law Group, LLC, we know how much an OWI can impact your life. Call our office today at 262-303-4916 to set up a free consultation.

Sources:

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/drunk-drv/ddlaw.aspx

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/susp-or-rvkd/occ-license.aspx

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/dmv/license-drvs/susp-or-rvkd/occ-lic-req-types.pdf

AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List
Back to Top