355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC
Recent blog posts

WI injury lawyerGetting into a car accident can at the least, majorly disrupt your day. You are not going to get where you were going anytime soon, even if you had an important meeting or appointment. At the worst, a car accident can disrupt your entire life if you face criminal charges as a result. It might be tempting to get out of there rather than stick around and identify yourself when you have caused an accident, but doing so will only make things worse. Your safest bet is to comply with Wisconsin law regarding what you can and cannot do immediately after a car accident. Then, you need to call a lawyer as soon as possible.

If I Have Caused a Car Accident, What Do I Need to Do Next?

Right after an accident, you might be experiencing a flood of emotions, ranging from panic to guilt, especially if someone got hurt. It is important to remain calm and comply with the legal steps you are required to take. After a car accident, Wisconsin law requires you to:

  • Stay there - The most important thing is that you do not leave the scene. You must remain where you are until the police say otherwise. Fleeing the scene, with or without your vehicle can lead to hit-and-run charges. If the other driver is behaving aggressively or threatening you, you can get back in your car and lock the doors or duck into a nearby business and let the police know where you are. Otherwise, stay in clear view of the accident scene.
  • Identify yourself - You must provide your name, address, and registration to anyone else who was involved in the collision. If another driver or one of their passengers requests to see your driver’s license, you have to show it.
  • Find the owner - If you accidentally hit an unattended vehicle, which often happens in crowded parking lots, or another piece of property like a fence or mailbox, you need to take reasonable steps to locate the owner. Leaving a note with your contact information will generally suffice.
  • Help injured people - You do not need to jump in and become a first-aid expert, but you do need to call an ambulance if one is needed. The requirement is that you provide “reasonable assistance.”
  • Police report - You must report the accident to the police.

Call a Wisconsin Traffic Law Attorney

If you have been charged with a crime after causing a car accident, Bucher Law Group, LLC has the skills you need to minimize the impact of the situation. Our experienced Jefferson County traffic law lawyers can begin providing assistance immediately after the accident. Call 262-303-4916 for a free consultation.

...

Continue Reading...

WI defense lawyerSimply put, statutory rape is any sexual activity between an adult 18 years old or older and a minor who is younger than 19 years old. The idea behind this sex offense is that minors are not capable of consenting to sexual activity, so adults should avoid engaging in it with them even if the minor does in fact give consent. That means that in order to get a conviction, the prosecution need not prove any type of force or coercion. Under Wisconsin state law, several distinct crimes fall under the umbrella of statutory rape. A conviction could leave you on the sex offenders’ list, so if you are facing any of these charges, it is very important that you do not wait to find an attorney.

What Offenses Are Considered Types of Statutory Rape?

In Wisconsin, statutory rape is the name given to several different offenses based on the respective ages of the offender and the minor involved. It might be called “Sexual Assault of a Child” or “Sexual Assault of a Minor,” even if there was no real assault involved and the minor agreed to the act. Categories of statutory rape in Wisconsin include:

  • Sexual Assault of a Child in the First Degree - This might be referred to as “child molestation” in more informal settings. It is a Class B Felony that occurs when an adult has sexual contact with a minor who is under 13 years old. It is the most serious offense that falls under the umbrella of statutory rape.
  • Sexual Assault of a Child in the Second Degree - This is a Class C Felony defined as sexual contact between an adult and a minor who is under 16 years old, but at least 13. Elements of coercion are typically assumed in these cases.
  • Misdemeanor Sexual Assault of a Minor in the First Degree - This is the only form of statutory rape that is not a felony - but it is still serious, and you could still become a sex offender. This offense is when an adult has sexual contact with a minor who was at least 16 years old.

What if I Was Close to the Victim’s Age?

In Wisconsin, there is no “Romeo and Juliet” defense. If you are 18 years old, you could be prosecuted for having sexual contact with anyone who is 17 years old or younger. The only exception is if you are legally married to the alleged victim - spouses need not fear prosecution for having consensual sex.

...

Continue Reading...

WI defense lawyerYellow school buses were absent from Wisconsin’s roads for quite some time during the height of the pandemic. While schools were largely closed and relying on distance learning, drivers did not need to worry about sharing the road with these important vehicles. Now that schools have been reopened and school buses are back on the road, it may be a good time to review the state laws that apply when you encounter one. These laws are designed to keep both child passengers and everyone else on the road safe. Aside from being dangerous, violating a law about school bus safety could lead to serious fines or even a loss of license. If you have been issued a ticket after violating a school bus law, it is important to take it seriously - the state certainly does.

What Laws Do I Need to Follow When I See a School Bus on the Road?

School bus laws may feel very restrictive, but keep in mind that these laws are in place to protect children. Unlike adults, children cannot be expected to exercise great judgment when it comes to road safety. Younger kids can be quite unpredictable, and hard to spot around another vehicle. Wisconsin state laws other drivers must follow when they see a school bus include:

  • No passing - No one likes getting stuck behind a school bus. They make frequent stops and can slow down traffic for miles behind them. However, if you are going to pass a school bus you must do it while the bus is in motion. It is illegal to pass a stopped school bus, no matter how late you are.
  • Complete stop - All traffic must stop when a school bus flashes its red warning lights at a bus stop. This includes any traffic going the opposite direction, as some children may need to cross the road. The only exception is for vehicles going in the opposite direction when the highway is divided by a median.
  • Stay back - It is a good idea to give school buses plenty of extra space when you are behind them - when they stop at a bus stop, you must stop at least 20 feet behind them, which is very difficult to do if you were following too closely. The 20-foot rule also applies to traffic in other lanes, including those who were going in the other direction.

The points on your license and fines can be serious, particularly if you have received other tickets recently. It is also very important to obey reduced speed limits in school zones. Speeding fines can drastically increase if you are near a school while children are arriving or departing.

...

Continue Reading...

WI injury lawyerHealthcare workers have had a particularly difficult time these last two years or so. As if the constant threat of COVID exposure were not enough, assaults against healthcare workers have been on the rise. Wait times in the ER have been extremely long, with some patients waiting upwards of 12 hours to be seen. Many have been unable to visit their loved ones who were hospitalized with the virus. Disinformation about “alternative” treatments has led to disputes between patients, families, and care teams. On far too many occasions, this has led to violence in hospitals and doctors' offices. A new bill, which recently passed the state assembly, would make any violence against a healthcare worker a felony criminal offense.

Was Attacking a Healthcare Worker Not Already a Felony?

A preexisting law made it a felony to batter a nurse or emergency care worker, such as Emergency Room doctors and paramedics. Nurses and emergency health care staff have typically been the most common targets of violence in health care settings. Emotions can run very high in emergency settings, sometimes even escalating to violence. In an effort to keep these critical workers safe in their workplaces, even minor violence against them can be treated as a felony battery.

What Would this New Bill Change?

The new bill would expand this protection to all healthcare workers and staff. Health care workers have never been more essential. Certified Nursing Assistants, interns, phlebotomists, and even secretarial staff are also essential in health care facilities. All staff members are needed to keep doctors’ offices and hospitals running smoothly - and patients safe. These workers also need to feel safe in their workplaces and to have violence against them taken seriously.

...

Continue Reading...

WI defense lawyerThe Second Amendment protects the rights of Americans to own and use firearms - however, this right is not absolute. There are limits as to who can or cannot own or carry a gun. There are restrictions related to age, criminal history, and even mental health. Even for those who lawfully own a gun and possess a valid concealed carry license, there are still restrictions about where concealed carry is or is not permitted. It is easier than you may think to inadvertently cross onto the wrong side of the law and find yourself facing weapons charges. If you have been charged with a weapons offense, it is important to find an attorney who is experienced at protecting the Second Amendment rights of concealed carry permit holders. The consequences of a weapons offense could include the loss of your license.

What Legal Restrictions Are Placed on Concealed Carry License Holders?

First, it is important to know that there are some places where carrying a gun is illegal even if you have a permit. These places include:

  • Courts - This includes any county, state, and federal courthouses. Buildings that contain a municipal courtroom are included only if court is in session.
  • School grounds - You cannot carry a firearm on any part of a school’s campus or grounds, even if school is not in session.
  • Police stations - Unless, of course, you are a police officer, it is illegal to bring a gun into any police station, sheriff’s office, or any office housing special agents for the Department of Justice’s Division of Criminal Investigation.
  • Jails - If you are planning on visiting someone in a jail or prison, remember to leave your gun behind. This restriction applies to any portion of a building that houses a secured correctional facility.
  • Mental health facilities - This applies only to secured mental health units, such as the Sand Ridge Secure Treatment Center. However, outpatient counseling offices may have their own policies about whether concealed carry is permitted inside.
  • Airports - You probably would not make it this far with a firearm, but it is a crime to bring a gun into any part of an airport past a security checkpoint.

Whether concealed carry is permitted in bars or other public places where alcohol is sold and consumed on the premises - like most restaurants - depends on whether you are partaking. It is illegal to carry your gun if you are under the influence. This is probably a good thing. Alcohol and guns do not mix any better than alcohol and cars.

...

Continue Reading...

AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List Criminal Defense Blog
Back to Top