355 Austin Circle, Suite 110, Delafield, WI 53018
Search
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

262-303-4916

Bucher Law Group, LLC

Waukesha, WI DUI lawyers

Wisconsin police law enforcement and the courts do not take OWI charges lightly. In the state of Wisconsin, even a first offense of operating a vehicle while intoxicated can result in a fine of up to $300, a $435 OWI surcharge, a six- to nine-month driver’s license revocation, and a significant mark on your criminal record.

In recent years, Wisconsin lawmakers have pushed to make consequences for first-time OWI offenses more strict, although lawmakers typically punish OWI charges to the fullest extent of the law. However, there are certain elements a strong DUI defense can focus on to help mitigate the consequences.

...

Delafield DUI lawyer

Throughout the United States, the general trend for DUI arrests and convictions has been a good one — for the past couple of years, the number of DUI arrests and convictions has been decreasing. Despite this, operating a vehicle while intoxicated is still a big issue in Wisconsin. One of the ways states have tried to prevent DUIs is by placing a suspension or revocation on the offender’s driver’s licenses. 

While this has been effective in lowering DUI rates, it can greatly affect someone’s life who is arrested for OWI, including their ability to earn a living and complete household duties. Getting your driving privileges back can also be a long and tedious process, and one best navigated by a driver’s license reinstatement attorney.

...

Posted on in DUI/OWI

Waukesha County DUI Lawyers

Getting a DUI can be detrimental in many ways. You may face driver’s license suspension, jail time, and expensive fines, but you could also face other financial burdens relating to your DUI. One complication is you will probably see an increase in your car insurance rates. With any person’s auto insurance, the rate you pay is typically dependent on the person’s driving record. If you have an OWI conviction on your record, your car insurance company will likely raise your premiums, although the percentage your rate is raised depends on the company.

What Causes Car Insurance to Go Up?

Your insurance rates are usually determined by how much of a risk your insurance company considers you to be. If the insurance company has reason to believe that you are a risky driver, then you will pay more for your insurance coverage. There are a number of factors that affect how your insurance company determines whether you are a risky driver. These include:

...

In most states, a DUI is considered a criminal offense (typically a misdemeanor), even for a first offense. This is not the case in Wisconsin, where a first-time OWI is treated more like a traffic violation. Two Wisconsin lawmakers have proposed bills that would make DUI penalties in Wisconsin more severe. One of these bills aims to increase penalties for first-time DUI offenders in Wisconsin, something the lawmakers say is long overdue. 

Wisconsin DUI Laws

Under the proposed bill, first-time OWI charges would no longer be treated as traffic offenses. They would become criminal misdemeanor charges, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines. Though alcohol-related crashes have decreased in recent years, a good portion of Wisconsin DUI offenses are committed by first-time offenders. The lawmakers say this bill would help deter people from drinking and driving even further. 

According to Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD), Wisconsin was among the worst 15 states for DUI arrests each year from 2007-17. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation also states 448,624 drivers in the state had at least one OWI conviction as of 2015.

...

Delafield OWI Lawyer

In an effort to reduce the number of people who choose to drink and drive, many states - including Wisconsin - have adopted a number of laws and regulations over the decades to deter people from breaking the law. Most states now have in place some version of a program that requires the use of an ignition interlock device (IID) in the vehicles of DUI offenders. In Wisconsin, 2010 marked the first year mandatory IID requirements went into effect. IIDs are now required for all repeat OWI offenders, all chemical test refusals, and all first-time DUIs in which the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is more than .15.

What is an Ignition Interlock Device?

An IID is a small electronic device that is wired into your vehicle’s ignition system. Before you are able to start the vehicle, you must blow into the device, which will then determine your BAC. In Wisconsin, if your BAC is over .02, the vehicle will not start. The device will allow you to have three attempts in five minutes for each requested breath sample. After a vehicle starts, the device will prompt you for other samples at various intervals while the engine is running. The date, time, and BAC of each and every sample is recorded and stored.

...
AVVO SuperLawyers BBB Thervo 2017 Martindale Hubbel City Voter List Criminal Defense Blog
Back to Top